(619) 861-6260

info@dancewithliza.com 

North Park & Kearny mesa

​​ Dance With Liza



Dance your way to happiness!

Sharon and Rob, married in 2011, chose "Dancing In the Moonlight" by King Harvest for their first wedding dance.  I taught them in their lovely backyard which had an amazing view! Here is what they said:

"Everything was perfect. We got rave reviews on our dance and even did an encore on Sunday's reception.  The whole weekend was beyond perfect. Thank you!"
~Sharon and Rob

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~​
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Cindy and Justin, married July 18, 2015, chose "Love Is Here To Stay" by Frank Sinatra for their dance which had lots of panache.  Cindy smiled more during our lessons than any other student I've ever had!  Here is what they said:


"We were dancing to a Frank Sinatra song so we wanted to ensure that we looked good.....we didn't want it to look stiff and choreographed, but we wanted it to have a bit of panache!  She completely understood what we were looking for and helped us plan a dance that we loved.

Liza is creative, patient and understands how to help people with different styles learn.  I like to learn a dance based on what steps go with a certain part of the song, while my husband likes to have it based on numbers (6-count or 8-count, depending on the step).  Liza was able to do both so that we could look graceful in our Foxtrot.  We mastered the sway step, box step, numerous turns, and a fabulous finish with a dip.  The guests loved it!"

~Cindy & Justin

Jimmy learned to dance in 2010 in preparation for his daughter Samantha's wedding in 2011.  He gave himself more than a year to prepare because it was so important to him.  He chose "My Little Girl" by Tim McGraw.  Here is what he said:


“I was determined to do a “real” dance with my daughter at her wedding, and for a person with limited rhythm and no leading skills, I honestly wasn’t sure I was going to be able to learn to dance. You are a wonderful dance teacher! No doubt I would have been lost without your patience, understanding, and approach. In addition, you were great as a choreographer, putting together the steps and moves, tailored to our abilities and our chosen Father/Daughter song. I now have the confidence to get out on the dance floor, not just for this event, but with my wife, and know that I’m not going to look silly. From the bottom of my heart, I thank you, as do my daughter and wife."
~Jimmy


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Andrew and Irish, married in 2010, danced to "Muse" by Starlight.  They were very creative and had a lot of fun with the dance.  Here is what they said: 


“Everyone loved our wedding dance! One of my girlfriends even told her husband: “See, we should’ve done that!” Our wedding was definitely a hit.”

~Andrew and Irish


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Abby and Jessica chose a super fun and light-hearted song, Hey Baby, from Dirty Dancing, for their wedding on September 25, 2016.  We had a blast laughing and goofing off during our lessons.  They even invited me to their wedding!  YouTube omitted the sound for copyright laws, but you can still sense their joy on their special day.  


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Videos & Testimonials

Stacy and Sal (not pictured), married October 10, 2015, chose the song "I've Been Waiting" by the Leftover Cuties.  Here is what they said:


 "My fiancé was nervous about learning a first dance, but Liza is so good at listening to what you want out of the experience, and tailoring both the dance and her teaching to you, that he was totally comfortable and even had fun. I really appreciated that while she super nice and funny, she was efficient and didn't waste your time. She helped us create a first dance that didn't feel over the top choreographed, but was still interesting both to dance and to watch. I never write reviews but I had to write one for her because she is just so good! I am SO HAPPY we found her, and I would recommend her to anyone without reservations."
~Stacy and Sal


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sarah and John got married on November 5, 2016.  I enjoyed choreographing their dance; especially the polka part.  I got inspiration from Mary Poppins!  Here is what they said:


"Our first dance was absolutely fantastic!  Our guests went totally crazy for it and it was so so much fun! I'm so glad we decided to learn choreography for it, it made it just that much more special and felt like a really fun gift for our guests. Everyone was raving about it after.

~Sarah and John


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Cricket and Kevin got married in the spring of 2017.  They wanted their dance to be very theatrical and fun, and indeed it was!  In their words:  "Our first dance was a major hit!"


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Kami and Mike, married May 9, 2015, chose "The Luckiest" by Ben Folds.  Here is what they said:


"Liza coordinated our first dance for our wedding in May. Let me just start off by saying that my poor husband has NO dance skills whatsoever and is not a very patient man, he was also terrified to be doing this. Liza was a complete professional and handled us both with such ease and natural ability. There were a couple of dance lessons where I didn't think we were ever going to get this right and tensions were very high, Liza stepped in without a problem and cooled the tension. She helped my husband become more confident in his dance step and even taught him a couple of moves that he now loves to do whenever we are out.

We can't thank Liza enough for the amazing work she did with us to get us to our big day, she was fantastic in every single way. If you are looking for a great instructor who is kind, caring and extremely talented, then look no farther, Liza is the girl for you!

~Kami and Mike


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Amy and Joe (not pictured), married March 22, 2015, chose the very fun song "Buona Sera" by Louis Prima. Here is what they said: 


"We had such a great time learning to dance for our wedding with Liza! She was helpful in choosing a song and made helpful suggestions on song/dance style pairings. We ended up learning to dance 2 different styles (tango and swing) for our first dance. We had 5 private lessons total over about 6 weeks and really had so much fun at all our sessions. She personalized it well and choreographed something that allowed us to freestyle a bit, show off all our practice, and had some definite wow-factor as well. Thanks again, Liza!"

~Amy and Joe


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

"Liza really is amazing; she came to our home for our first lesson, choreographed a beautiful dance to the song we chose and was really patient with us. She is kind but to the point which was really helpful to keep us on track when it was difficult. I can't emphasize how pleased we are with her. The dance was a hit! And can't wait till we book more lessons for fun."
~Paul and Tracy, married June 21, 2015

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“We like her format.”
~John & Kate

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

"For the mother-son dance at my wedding, my mom and I wanted to do a fun, upbeat, choreographed dance to one of our favorite songs ["Don't Stop Believing" by Journey]. We gave Liza our song, she created the dance, we had two practice sessions with her and we were good to go. The dance was a huge hit and the crowd loved it. Liza did a great job and delivered exactly what we were looking for. I would highly recommend Liza. She's great!"
~Kevin, married on October 31, 2015

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“She’s very friendly.”
~Walter

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


“Your dance classes were a blast!"
~Cassandra and Mark


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

"I appreciated Liza's incredible patience and kindness.  She broke things down into manageable steps for me, and now I can get through a basic routine in East Coast, Charleston, and Lindy Hop.  Liza prepares ahead of time for each lesson, has a game plan, and teaches with infectious enthusiasm--she makes it fun!  Liza is flexible about scheduling, and has access to studios in different locations.  Of course, she's an exceptionally good dancer, and can teach a variety of dance styles.  
~Ken

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


“It accelerated our learning when she videotaped our dancing. After the second taping we realized we actually looked pretty good! We would definitely recommend Liza. We had a great time preparing our wedding dance with her.”
~Stephanie and Grant


​~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


"My fiance and I decided at the very last minute (3 weeks prior to our wedding) that we should take dance lessons for our first dance at our wedding.  We  found Liza on Yelp and she was fantastic.  She even helped us pick our song! We did not want anything too choreographed and Liza helped us plan a dance that was classic and not too over the top planned.  Liza was very professional and very patient with us.  She is creative and breaks the moves down so it becomes easy to learn. She helped give us the confidence to kill our first dance song. Thank you, Liza for everything." 
~Kristi and Nick 


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Julie and Lawrence, married March, 22, 2015, chose one of the most unique songs for their wedding dance: the Jurassic Park theme song!  Here is what they said: 


"Liza was totally up for the challenge. Liza came to our home each week for 8 weeks and it became a “date-night”. It was a refreshing break from stressful wedding planning for both of us.  She also gave our father-daughter and mother-son dances a bit of style and all of us were more comfortable and relaxed on the dance floor the evening of the wedding.  Our guests were very impressed with our first dance and we were so excited and proud to perform it for them. 

~Julie and Lawrence


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Eric and Tori, married in 2014, chose "Cheek To Cheek", by Louis Armstrong and Ella Fitzgerald for their first wedding dance.  They sure look like they're having fun!  Here is what they said:  


"We did it!  Thank you so much!"

~Eric and Tori


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Chelsea and Andrew, married in 2012 chose "Everything" by Michael Buble for their first wedding dance.  Their challenging wedding choreography included an impressive lift. Here is what they said:


"Andrew and I just wanted to say thank you for all your help in teaching us our first dance for our wedding. Everybody LOVED it and my mom was so surprised!  Plus we had so much fun practicing together and were happy to not be embarrassed when all eyes were on us!  Everything at our wedding turned out amazing! We had the absolute best time!"
~Chelsea and Andrew


​~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


"Liza makes learning to dance a fun experience. Her upbeat style and genuine interest in the progress of her students adds to the enjoyment of each lesson. She is very patient and knows how to balance the learning process with the student's abilities. Over the course of the last year she has introduced me to a wide range of dance styles and steps, letting me decide which I preferred to pursue. Best of all, she is always in a good mood, which makes the learning experience so much more enjoyable. If you want to learn the correct way to dance, in a relaxed and fun setting, then Dance With Liza is the right choice!"

~Jeffrey


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


“Liza was able to put my fears of dancing and looking like a fool aside and carefully break down each step for my uncoordinated self. Now I am able to dance with a new found confidence!”

~Armir


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


"Being in my late 50's, I thought it was time to get rid of my fears of being on a dance floor. So, I decided ball room dancing, why not?, it's slow and hopefully it will build my confidence in dancing. I found Liza through a Google search, called and set up 4 lessons. From the beginning, Liza was so sincere, energetic and passionate about sharing her love for dancing.

After my first lesson, I couldn't wait to learn more! By the end of my 4th lesson, Liza had showed me the basics of the "Night Club two step", "American style foxtrot" and the "Swing", all of which left me asking myself "why didn't I try this years ago"!

If your looking for a dance instructor, who can truly work at your skill level, then give Liza a call, you'll be amazed at the results. She will take you from two left feet, shy and no confidence on the dance floor to a true desire to want to learn more.

Thank you Liza, I am forever truly grateful. I am so excited about my new passion for dancing, you're an amazing instructor with an infectious personality. Blessings to you and your family (sorry about your toe)."

~David B.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


“I walked away with a positive outlook after our lesson.”
~Irene


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


"Liza is a wonderful teacher, and I'm enjoying the small size class for learning swing. She really listens to what you need and want to learn, and she's patient while encouraging you to learn more steps. She's also quite delightful and fun. I feel like I'm finally really learning the basics without being pushed too fast or without it being boring or too overwhelming. I will definitely sign up for more classes, and I highly recommend her for other beginners like me."

~Alice


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


“While I had some past experience with dance, my husband was trying something completely new. Within only a few lessons we were both moving to the same beat and had new confidence in the world of dance. I am very happy that we took the time to learn something new and I'm even happier that my husband doesn’t hesitate to take me out onto the dance floor to do the salsa with me now! Thanks Liza!!”

~Larisse and Charles


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


“You can tell that Liza teaches from the heart. We think she has a great skill and talent. We’d recommend her to anyone.”

~Sarine and Ami


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


“Thank you so much for being so flexible especially at the last minute! Everyone…I mean EVERYONE, was completely taken back by our dance. They thought it was absolutely breathtaking and beautiful. Gives me goose bumps and I’m the one that danced!”

~Souf and Nicole


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


“We had a total of four left feet, which makes a really awkward, step-on-your-partner, dancing situation. In a period of about 5 weeks, we went from four left feet to pulling off the most stunning wedding dance that you could imagine. I can’t say thank you enough to Liza for teaching us how to dance!”

~Lisa and Bobby


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


“We danced the night away. The party just went crazy and couldn't be stopped.”

~Lisette and Randy


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


"Liza is a great teacher: patient, observant, focused, adjusts to students needs while  keeping us on track. Her demonstrations were very helpful. We both feel more comfortable and confident dancing together."

~Patti and Charles


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Liza taught just enough and at the right pace so that we walked away feeling encouraged, like we can dance.”

~Sam and Lori


“Professional, fun and easy to learn is the way I would describe our lessons.”

~Bill and Amy


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


“Although I had a lot of dance experience, my husband had none. Liza was able to teach him how to lead me into some simple patterns. We were able to confidently impress our friends and family on our big day with Liza’s help.”

~Leslie and David 


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


You were an excellent teacher and we are so grateful to have met with you!

~Rachel and Zach


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


“Liza is an awesome dance instructor. She has given me several lessons, both in studio and at home. Yes, she’ll even come to your home. I learned a number of different dances and had the chance to practice them at her Valentine’s party. The parties Liza hosts are great because it’s a chance to dance on a large dance floor with a dance instructor close by to show you how to improve. I would most definitely recommend her if you’re interested in dance lessons.”

~Jo



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


"It was a pleasure to work with Liza. My husband and I are both in the Navy so we had very busy schedules and frequently worked until pretty late, but Liza was able to schedule lessons with us that worked with times we were free, she was very accommodating. She helped us in learning a dance routine for our wedding and encouraged us to tape our sessions to review for practice. We were able to learn a beautiful dance in only 3 lessons with her guidance and we had never taken any dance lessons prior to this. Everyone at our wedding loved our dance and we had a great time learning it with Liza."

~Janice

"My partner and I are absolute beginners at Country Two Step. Liza is an excellent instructor; we have had only three lessons and already feel that we could dance in a club and not feel completely out of place. The lessons are fun and non-threatening - we look forward to them every week."
~Beth and Jacque


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


"I have been doing Country Line Dancing with Liza for a month now... and it is so much FUN!  She always makes it a fun learning experience and we have already tested out our skills at the Country Bars. She is open to suggestions for any line dance you want to learn. I highly recommend her."
~Jill in April 2015

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


"I have participated in Liza's Country 2-step group lesson every week since May 2013. Liza helped me improve my Country dancing skills tremendously. I had taken lessons at a local dance studio for 6 months berfore starting Liza's program. The beginning 2 step group lesson was always the same routine. I seldom received any individual attention. I could perform the basic routine, but never got any encouragement to progress to the intermediate class. At Liza's group lesson she added new dance variations every week that I had not learned before. She is a very skilled group dance instructor who sucessfully leads the group and takes the time to break down the foot step positions in a patient and supportive way.  


Liza's attention to detail makes you feel like you are having a private lesson. Her teaching advice on hand and arm positions during turns has transformed me into a more confident dance lead. The group class even made a field trip to a local Country dance hall with a live band. Liza was a gracious hostess and the classmates all had a great time dancing the night away. 


Every man interested in social life should take dance instruction. Single men will gain the confidence needed to cross that room with your heart going boom and ask a woman to dance with you and see her smile as you lead her in turns while keeping your footwork in time. A man in a relationship can benefit by creating magic moments on the dance floor with his partner to intensify feelings of love. I will continue to take Liza's group lessons."

~David F.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~